The mission of the Mayor and City Council is to serve as the legislative and policy body of the City Government. The Mayor serves as the official head of the government.

Sesser is split up into 3 wards. Ward maps are available on the City Ward Maps page. Each ward is represented by two, publicly elected aldermen (councilmen). These aldermen are elected at-large for staggered four-year terms on a biennial basis. If an alderman is no longer able to serve out their term, then a replacement alderman may be appointed. Each alderman serves as a representative of the wards in which they live. We encourage all citizens of Sesser to get to know the elected aldermen from their wards. Contact information for each is listed below. Simply hover your mouse cursor over a picture to reveal each alderman’s contact information.

Regular City Council meetings are normally held once a month on the second Thursday of each month at 6:30PM at the Goode Township Building (Community Building). In the event that a special meeting is called by the council, details will be posted on our Public Event Calendar and on our Facebook page. Meeting minutes are available on the City Council Meeting Minutes page.

  • Dana Laur
    Dana Laur Alderman - Ward I

    Phone: (618) 625-8444

    • David Bates
      David Bates Alderman - Ward II

      Phone: (618) 435-1289

      • Travis Zettler
        Travis Zettler Alderman - Ward III

        Phone: (618) 625-1040


      • Wayne Shannon
        Wayne Shannon Alderman - Ward III

        Phone: (618) 625-6460

        • Rose Bochantin
          Rose Bochantin Alderman - Ward I

          Phone: (618) 927-2273


          • Jeff Hamburger
            Jeff Hamburger Alderman - Ward II

            Phone: (618) 663-2819


            Contact Us

            We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

            Not readable? Change text. captcha txt